Will The Man Who Loves Jesus Please Stand Up?

jonny-lang-2.jpgOne of my guys in youth group recently handed me a CD simply saying, “Dude, you’ve got to check this guy out.” Like most things I’m given, it got put on “the stack.” Needless to say, it was a good month before I listened to it.

The music really impressed me. But being signed with Interscope Records, it should. Clean, tight, and extremely well written.

Then something hit me with the words. Something major. Each song, every song, seemed like it was either talking about Jesus, or encouraging people to dream, two things you don’t hear very much about today. “Maybe this guy is a Christian…” I thought.

But it couldn’t be.

Could it?

While my wife was grocery shopping and I was sitting in the truck with the kids, I fell upon the song that encapsulates his testimony, and it hides nothing. I’m not going to spoil it by telling you the track name. Don’t worry. You’ll find it. And when you do you’ll be as amazed as I was.

When Jennifer got back in the car, I ran in to the auto parts store, but I started the track over so I know she’d hear it when she turned the CD player back on.

When I came back five minutes later, she was in tears.

“Who is this?”

May I present Jonny Lang, a man I wish I knew personally just to shake his hand and say “thank you.” And the album of course is the Grammy Award winning Turn Around. A quick read through of his bio and subsequent visit to his website will portray what we’ve come to know in the US as a first-class act, full of talent, success, and prestige. Yet, upon further investigation, you’ll discover so much more.

This guitar-playing, song-belting virtuoso got saved. Radically saved. And he’s not ashamed of it. A brief read through of his testimony will put any sceptics to shame. This guy is the real deal. He’s had an encounter with the Holy Ghost.

His music has been blessing me non-stop. And the most amazing thing: he’s still signed to Interscope, yet his stuff is, in my opinion, more Christ-centered than most things I’ve heard out of CCM in a long time. Original. Authentic. Classy. And need I say I thought he was black?

Granted, my praise of the guy get added to the already long list of endorsements, including Eric Clapton, B.B. King , and Buddy Guy. But mine would be of a different sort. Yes, he’s an amazing singer, song-writer, and guitarist.

But, thank you, Jonny Lang, for being willing to use the amazing platform you’ve been given to create phenomial art that makes the whole world notice, not just a whole niche. Thank you for standing up. My hat is off to you and I look forward to meeting you one day, either here or in glory. I’m proud to be your brother in Christ. You have my thoughts and prayers always.

CH

3 Responses to “Will The Man Who Loves Jesus Please Stand Up?”

  1. I’ve been listening to Lang since his first CD came out. I own all of them including the new one, but I only listened to it one time, wasn’t really “listening” (a bad habit of mine) and just forgot about it. After reading this post, I added the new CD to my iPod and have been checking him out in the truck. It’s an awesome CD!

  2. Christopher,
    I have SO got to get this CD.

    Oh, and by the way, I FINALLY cranked up my SG the other day. A bit rusty, but the Suh-weet sound was still there.

    -Wayne

  3. Great Review CK!
    This Cd has really blessed me and is so motivating.
    Its lyrics are full of truth!
    I’d recommend it to anyone.
    jennifer

Leave a Reply

