Being Christian Without Being “Christian” (CFSS Blog Tour)

Yesterday, my friend Jason made a fantastic comment about how we [the greater representative of the Westernized-American Body of Christ] slap the “Christian” tag on everything we do, from businesses to art. It reminds me of a revelation I had recently on the subject of witnessing.

So often we think that if we don’t mention “Christ dying at Calvary,” and Him being “raised from the dead three days later,” and so on and so forth, that we haven’t accurately witnessed to a lost person. But after re-reading that scripture which says “God is love,” (1 John 4:16) the Holy Spirit taught me a valuable lesson:

If we haven’t loved someone then we haven’t accurately witnessed.

To quote Fred Hammond, it’s not so much what we say, it’s mostly what we do. I love Rebecca Miller’s comment on my site yesterday, how Christians are “ghetto-izing” themselves. Granted, I’m posting on behalf of the CHRISTIAN Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog Tour right now. And I rejoice for the title! But here’s my point:

Wouldn’t it be amazing if our art was categorized because of its excellence and not because of its prefix?

That day is coming because of people just like you, if you’re reading this and have a heart for the Bride of Christ to rise up, strong and powerful!

If you are reading any of Jeff Gerke’s material right now, you know what I mean. If you haven’t, please visit his web sites. It’s really encouraging stuff. The guy has a handle on the need for Christians to write modern day parables, and the power they have.

On yet another subject, Rebecca Miller again just posted this yesterday and I think it opens up a great discussion:

rebeccaluellamiller Says:
February 20th, 2007 at 8:49 pm

“Long way around saying, I do think we ought to lead, but I’m not necessarily sure that             means having the slickest this or that or the latest-and-greatest. Maybe web design needs         to be affordable so churches can have a web presence, for instance. Maybe the movie needs     to be made with volunteer actors (that In the Face of Giants, I think it was called). I don’t         know.

“I DO think content needs to lead the way. Presentation? I’d like to hear more thoughts on     that.”

– – –

What do you think? (FYI: Wayne Thomas Batson already posted a similar theme here. Good reading and some great comments posted by his readers).

The world has such a strong handle on “presentation” for two reasons: 1.) They know that our culture is conditioned only to buy what looks the best. Call it shallow, but the numbers prove it. And 2.) how people present something directly (or indirectly) speaks of the object’s intrinsic value. Presentation builds credibility.
Unfortunately, I think there has been a lot of damage done in the world’s view regarding the Church in this; not only must we fight to set a precedent, but in a way, we’re having to make up for the apathy of those before us. Granted, I don’t even think we have to work that hard to do it. But work, we must.

I agree that our content must lead the way. But I fear that if it’s not presented with the best possible light we can give it, much of it will be passed over. In fact, as important as it is for authors and musicians to make great content, I think creative marketers need to be divinely inspired on how to present it. There are marketers out there (who’s gift it is to present things), who will get new ideas from heaven just on how to market something! A new add campaign, a new media tool, a new ingenious slogan or tour idea.

In response to Rebecca’s comment, I think “content” and “presentation” will walk hand in hand, a strategy which will set the Church apart, unlike secularism in which “presentation” is everything and “content” is next to nothing.

The most amazing example of all this, however, is right in front of us and I’d be remiss if I didn’t discuss it briefly. On one hand, Jesus was far from what Israel was expecting. His “presentation” was far from desirable. They were looking for a valiant King and a war host following; he came to a manger and rode in on an ass. Yet, conversely, His return “presentation” will leave no doubt that He is who He says He is. All the sceptics will be shut up in that great and glorious day. To this, Rebecca has a fantastic point: in both cases His “content” was bar none.I’d love to hear your comments on this! Thanks for such a great theme, Rebecca!

And to my dear friend Wayne Thomas Batson, Knight in Arms, Swordbrother of Athera, what a fantastic post yesterday! Y’all need to check it out. I particularly like the picture of Aragorn.

Tomorrow I’m going to highlight one of the absolute best music albums I’ve heard in years. In my opinion, it’s more Christian than any CCM album has been in a long time, yet the artist has relatively nothing to do with the CCM community, and is signed to one of the largest secular labels in the world.

Stay tuned! And thanks for spending another few minutes with me today.

CH

(PS – Yes Wayne, I guess that would make God Stridex. But only if we can be Jamaican Jerk Sauce).

11 Responses to “Being Christian Without Being “Christian” (CFSS Blog Tour)”

  1. Great thoughts again, Christopher. I’ll be eager to see what other people think. Althought what “works” in the world certainly attracts us, I;m not sure that means we should be guided by it. But maybe. Scripture says man looks on the outward appearance but God looks on the heart. Does that mean we try to look beyond the outward to follow a godly model or should we pay attention to the outward knowing that this is what Man is looking at? Or is it both? Is that possible given limited resources?

    Just thinking out loud. 😉

    Becky

  2. I do believe that content and presentation do go hand in hand. Face it – we as Christians will accept just about anything if it has to do with Christ. We’re not very concerned with it’s presentation. But we’re here to reach the rest of the world too – and they are very aware of the presentation. With poor presentation the message is overlooked or looked at as ‘less’.

  3. Jam-ai-can–jerk–sauce {gasp} He falls to the floor in hysterical fits of laughter. {Pant, gasp some more} Tears flowing freely now. {Ahhhh! Screams to fend of new painful laughing spasms!}

  4. 1 Corinthians 10:31

    Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.

    Colossians 3:17

    And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

    These verses came to mind when I read your post and the comments. Is God getting glory out of shoddy work? Is He getting glory from one obsessed with perfection? Are we really doing what God wants us to do or simply trying to please ourselves? I think we need to, individually, determine what God’s path is for our lives and follow that-nothing else will bring Him glory. Once we’ve found that path, we need to do it with every bit of our capacity, as unto Him. What if we don’t know what that is? Then we need to seek Him, listen to good advice, and simply take the path that’s in front of us. God can move us onto different paths at will.

    I sound like I’m preaching:) Actually, it’s something that I’ve dealt with recently.

  5. Eve,

    I can’t begin to tell you how “God” your comment is. First off, I started composing a response TWICE this afternoon, but the Lord made me erase it. Guess what scripture I was going to quote? You guessed it: Col. 3:17. I just figure He wanted someone else to say it better than I could have–and you certainly did just that. Thanks for posting!

    CH

  6. […] thought provoking post from Christopher – this time about being Christian without being […]

  7. Ouch, you hit the nail on the head Eve… thank you! *shut up Christopher* Something I’m dealing with now as I trudge along the path I’m currently on. *again… shut up Christopher*

    “…Once we’ve found that path, we need to do it with every bit of our capacity, as unto Him.”

  8. Sorry, I’m a bit behind–what else is knew?

    Lots of great thoughts here. Lots to think about…

  9. Are you a writer or something? You’re amazing.
    Love
    jennifer

  10. Ich erklare meinen Freunden uber diese Seite. Interessieren!

  11. Interesting comments.. 😀

Leave a Reply

